DIGITAL ECONOMY REPORT 2019 - WHO OWNS WHAT IN THE DIGITAL SPACE?


EMBARGO

The contents of this media alert and the related report must not be quoted or summarized in the print, broadcast or electronic media before 4 September 2019, 17:00 GMT

(13:00 New York, 19:00 Geneva, 20:00 Nairobi, 12:00 noon Mexico, 20:00 Addis, 22:30 Delhi, 00:00 – 5 September Bangkok, 02:00 – 5 September Tokyo)

UNCTAD’s first-ever Digital Economy Report examines value creation and capture in the digital economy and implications for developing countries. It maps the flow, data and funds in the world’s digital economy, outlining the enormous potential gains and possible development costs as more of the world moves, connects and buys online.

The Report presents global and regional trends and discusses key policies for value creation and capture in the digital economy, notably with regard to entrepreneurship, data, trade, competition, taxation, intellectual property and employment. It provides valuable insights and analyses to support policymakers at the national and international levels to ensure that no one is left behind by the fast-evolving digital economy.

PRESS CONFERENCE IN BANGKOK

Tuesday, 3 September 2019, 2pm – 3pm at the Foreign Correspondents Club of Thailand, Maneeya Center Building, 518/5 Ploenchit Road, Pathumwan, Bangkok

Speakers:

  • Mr. Mukhisa Kituyi, UNCTAD Secretary-General
  • Ms. Armida Salsiah Alisjahbana, UN Under-Secretary-General and Executive Secretary of ESCAP

After the lifting of the embargo, documents related to the report will be available on the main UNCTAD website.

For further information or to request interviews with UNCTAD experts, please contact the UNCTAD Press Office (+41 22 917 5549/8033/5828, +41 79 502 43 11 or unctadpress@unctad.org) or Bangkok-ESCAP Strategic Communications and Advocacy Section (+66 2288 1522, escap-scas@un.org)